Team HRC is currently traveling to the eastern shores of the Black Sea to take part in the sixth round of the 2018 Motocross World Championship, which takes place this upcoming Monday and Tuesday at Orlyonok in the Southern Federal District of Russia.

Created in close proximity to the namesake all-year Children’s Centre for kids between 11 and 16 years old, the track made its debut on the MXGP calendar last year. Ironically, neither of the two currently active Team HRC riders Tim Gajser and Calvin Vlaanderen have raced there yet as they were both injured at the time of the MXGP of Russia last year.2018-MXGP-OF-RUSSIA-HONDA-HRC-CALVIN-VLAANDEREN-01

Both riders are therefore keen on getting to grips with this exciting hard-packed motocross track on Monday, April 30th, with the free practice sessions getting underway at 11:30 (MX2) and 12:00 (MXGP) local time (GMT +3). The two MXGP races of the MXGP of Russia will begin on Tuesday, May 1st – The International Workers’ day, a public holiday in Russia – at 14:15 and 17:10, while the MX2 ones are scheduled to start just before at 13:15 and 16:10.


Tim Gajser 243

I’m looking forward to my first racing experience at Orlyonok: last year I had to watch the races from the sofa and it wasn’t much fun, but the track looked really good! We will also have many young fans attending the round, so it’ll surely be a very special event for everybody. It was nice to get on the podium last time out at Águeda so the goal will be to do the same there!




Calvin Vlaanderen 10

I’m leaving soon to Russia and I’m excited for it. Obviously, it’s a long trip to a place I’ve never been to before as I was injured last year. I’ve heard some good things about the track and I’ve seen some videos, so I cannot wait to go racing. My shoulder is still not 100% but I’ve had two good weeks on the bike and I’m feeling ready for it!




Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

We are happy to have Tim with us this time around as he wasn’t able to join the team last year due to injury. Neither him nor Calvin have raced here previously, so it will be a completely new experience for them in such a unique place and track like Orlyonok. What Tim did in Portugal was more in line with his potential and our all expectations, so our hope is that he will continue to build momentum and keep racing at the front – in order to also improve his position in the championship. Calvin needs some strong results and a smooth weekend to build some momentum, and I’m sure he is up to the task now that he had some time to train and look over his shoulder.


2018 MXGP Rider Standings

Limited to top 30 results

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 HERLINGS Jeffrey 84 NDL 241 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
2 CAIROLI Antonio 222 ITA 225 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
3 FEBVRE Romain 461 FRA 169 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
4 DESALLE Clement 25 BEL 165 Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki
5 PAULIN Gautier 21 FRA 147 Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna
6 COLDENHOFF Glenn 259 NDL 140 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
7 VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy 89 BEL 132 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
8 GAJSER Tim 243 SLO 113 Team HRC – MXGP Honda
9 SEEWER Jeremy 91 SWI 110 Wilvo Yamaha MXGP Yamaha
10 NAGL Max 12 GER 88 TM Racing Factory Team TM
11 LIEBER Julien 33 BEL 86 Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki
12 SIMPSON Shaun 24 GBR 76 Wilvo Yamaha MXGP Yamaha
13 BOBRYSHEV Evgeny 777 RUS 72 BOS GP Suzuki
14 JASIKONIS Arminas 27 LTU 58 Team Honda Red Moto Honda
15 DESPREY Maxime 141 FRA 58 Gebben V Venrooy Kawasaki Kawasaki
16 STRIJBOS Kevin 22 BEL 56 Standing Construct KTM KTM
17 LUPINO Alessandro 77 ITA 52 Gebben V Venrooy Kawasaki Kawasaki
18 ANSTIE Max 99 GBR 45 Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna
19 LEOK Tanel 7 EST 41 A1M Husqvarna Husqvarna
20 PATUREL Benoit 6 FRA 22 Kemea Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team Yamaha
21 SEARLE Tommy 100 GBR 20 Bike It DRT Kawasaki Kawasaki
22 BUTRON Jose 17 SPA 17 Marchetti Racing Team KTM KTM
23 PETROV Petar 152 BUL 16 Team Honda Red Moto Honda
24 IRWIN Graeme 55 IRE 15 Hitachi Construction Machinery KTM UK KTM
25 KULLAS Harri 151 FIN 14 Wildcard Rider Husqvarna
26 MONTICELLI Ivo 128 ITA 9 iFly JK Racing Yamaha
27 SALAZAR Jetro 60 ECU 5 Wildcard Rider Honda
29 VALENTIN Ander 920 SPA 5 920 Fly Group Husqvarna
30 BENGTSSON Filip 20 SWE 3 Wildcard Rider Yamaha